The Wildfire Project

The Wildfire Project

The Beginning

Over the week, my team and I in the ADA tech program were tasked to come up with a project that aims at solving a problem. The ADA tech program is a 7 months intensive learning program aimed at grooming individuals and empowering women to learn and master a tech skill, which I am learning Data Analysis. The sub program for the product development was tagged 'WILDFIRE'

My team (Team Ultra) and I, led by the Project Manager came together and decided on a project called Ultra homes. Ultra home is a platform designed to offer home solutions to Nigerians and residents in various states.

Having noticed the difficulty of people getting to own homes, with large rents in most states. This platform is designed to encourage residents to become landlords at their own pace and budget.

How can this be achieved?

Interested persons sign up to our website, then choose the plan that best suits them, the payment for each house is in installments, where after some time of completing the payment the ownership of the can now be transferred to the new owner. This way you can live in your own house while making payment plans to gain full ownership.

Project Contribution

As an intending data analyst, my contribution to the project was first of all contributing to the idea of what our project should entail.

However, I experienced some challenges during the project. I couldn't contribute skill-wise because of a clash with some examinations I had with a banking school that couldn't be shifted. Nevertheless, I related this to my teammates and they were fully aware of my constraints. I made sure to acknowledge their good work and drop some comments on changes that we could make while on this journey.

Our project couldn't go live before the formal presentation at the ADA student's product showcase, but thankfully one of us used a commercial website, Shopify to showcase the product, which we presented during the showcase.

That was a great save right?

Lessons Learnt

During this period, I learned about teamwork and how one loose end can cost the team, I learned that while working with people from diverse backgrounds and experiences, you need to be patient and empathetic.

My teammates had other things going on outside the group but they still sacrificed sleepless nights to make the project ready for presentation.

Going forward, if we conclude on hosting the website live, then I can contribute as a data analyst, by analyzing the responses of users who interact with the website, documenting the customer's journey map and pain points we could work on. This project is a work in progress and I believe my team has learned a lot and navigated all we have learned so far in the program.

The Wildfire Project was indeed a wildfire, no wonder the name. It stretched us above our limits and we got to bring to light all we have learned over the month in the ADA space. My gratitude goes to my teammates and the organizers and facilitators of this program, it is worth every time spent.

I look forward to contributing to more projects moving forward.